Tarot Journaling- A Magickal Mystery Tour Mash-Up

In the 30+ years I’ve been reading Tarot, I’ve been asked many times if there was a book that inspired and/or instructed me more than any other. At the time that I began, there were a few books available, but compared to now, it was very slim pickings.  I read all that I could find, and haunted the stacks at Samuel Weiser’s in Greenwich Village like a hungry, denim-clad ghost, soaking up as much as I could. I made an absolute pest of myself there, and also at “The Magickal Childe” -stuffing my head as if there were no tomorrow. Fortunately, there was a tomorrow, (which eventually became today)- and today we have an incredible wealth of books. One of the very best and most inspiring of these is “Tarot For Yourself” by Mary K. Greer.

http://www.amazon.com/Tarot-Your-Self-Workbook-Transformation/dp/1564145883/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1306158173&sr=1-1

By the time I discovered this amazing book, I’d already been reading tarot longer than most of my students had been on the planet- but I felt as if I were discovering the cards all over again. It made things fresh, and revitalized my entire approach. I felt as if I’d taken a course of high potency vitamins for the soul and had lasik surgery all at once- it cleared vision that I had not even noticed was growing stale, and breathed new vitality into my practice.  Curiously, there was a synchronous element with another book that was becoming a revolutionizing key to my thinking process: I was also participating in a group that was doing “The Artist’s Way” journaling process, which I had not consciously even associated with my “other life” as a Tarot Reader when I began it.  I discovered “Tarot for Yourself” just as I was really getting deeply immersed with “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron, and some magickal synergistic process spontaneously took place.

http://www.amazon.com/Artists-Way-Julia-Cameron/dp/1585421472/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1306160819&sr=1-1

I began finding the Tarot images and exercises from “Tarot for Yourself” invading my Morning Pages, and my ramblings from my Morning Pages began turning up in my Readings. Hhhm.  Amazing? Yes, but perhaps not so unheard of as all that. Suddenly, most of my other reading started turning up related threads- every time I cracked open a book, in everything from Gardening to Wicca to Watercolor Painting, it seemed the author was telling me to journal about my process, to link it all together, to notice the synchronicities- and to document them.

Alrighty then! I don’t need to be sledgehammered! (or maybe I did- then.) I sat up and took notice, and started to put it into practice. (And lucky YOU- because of blogging, you get to eavesdrop on the process now.  Ah, the miracles of technology!)
Synchronicities were popping up every place I looked. They sprang up like weeds between cracks in the sidewalk.  A funny thing started to happen: I felt incredibly empowered and validated every time I noticed another connection in the patterns running through all things.  I began to take greater leaps of faith, and trusting in my process, to boldly go where…well, where few had gone before.  When things didn’t go smoothly, I had greater faith in my decisions, and patience to trust that somehow, things would right themselves.  And they did.

Anyway, I strongly suggest this approach for the reader who wants to put depth and added dimension into their process. Consider it a Diviner’s mash-up: The Tarot Artist’s Way For Yourself”. Mary, meet Julia. Julia- Mary. Let’s all sit down, have tea, plant some flowers, and trade readings. Oh yes, and let’s be sure to write EVERYTHING down.

About tarotcircle

I have been reading Tarot since January 1975, and teaching Tarot since 1978. Several of my students have become the best readers I know- which is why I started giving classes in the first place- so that I could always find someone to get a really superior reading from! In the years since I began reading, the interest in Tarot, other forms of divination and earth-centered spirituality has exploded to amazing proportions, and the art of reading has itself evolved tremendously. So much has changed, and I am so pleased to find myself cresting the wave again and again, as this fascinating science of soul journeying deepens and becomes ever more vibrant. I find myself ever changing, ever learning more and more, as I too, evolve, grow and embark again on the journey to the center of myself. Welcome to the edge of understanding, where you can simultaneously embrace the ancient paths, and surf the most current breakers of your own highest being!
This entry was posted in Divination, fortune, interpretation, Metaphysical, readings, recognizing opportunity, Spiritual, tarot, Tarot for Self Discovery, tarot instruction, tarotcircle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

