Card Pick of the Day – The Wheel of Fortune

from the Cosmic Tarot, by Artist Norbert Losche

We all recognize that life throws many challenges our way. Some people are so peppered with problems that their lives seem to be continuous obstacle courses that must be maneuvered through with as much care as a mine-field. (I have certainly felt that way too many times to mention!) And yet, it must be said, that if you view each event with an open mind and without judgment, there is often an opportunity hidden somewhere inside it. The whole point is to roll with the punches, and not get attached to any one position on the wheel. Life is full of changes, and circumstances are unstable. What seems written in stone one day can be swept away like a wind-blown feather the next. If you ride it out in the center of the wheel, the ups and downs don’t keep running you over, and you have a better chance of getting somewhere in one piece. It’s true that you give up a great deal of the abandoned giddiness of the highs- but remember that those highs are paid for by the lows that can leave you broken in the road. What comes up must go down- and sometimes, you find yourself getting backed over repeatedly! The middle of the wheel is the fulcrum and the point of greatest power. You have the best chance to exert your free will there. You can’t always steer or brake, but you can keep a clear enough head to make better choices in how you respond to the situation. It’s also the best position from which you can do the most effective damage control.

I had a strange and lucky thing happen to me yesterday that perfectly illustrates this- so it was another lovely synchronicity when this card popped up this morning. After an unsettling day, during which I was disrupted in my process repeatedly, I had a free opportunity just drop into my lap to add to my qualifications and earning power. I came away with a 5 year certificate that under any other circumstances would have cost a tidy bundle, that I certainly would not have been able to afford. How did this happen? I dealt with the interference without complaint, without losing my temper- and when the opportunity presented itself, I recognized it and took it.  If I had not been tossed about all day, or if I had lost patience and left the premises, I would not have been in the right place at the right time. If I had gotten nasty or started whining, I would not have received this offer. If I had let things upset me, I wouldn’t have been thinking clearly enough to recognize the value in the offer when it came.

All this fits perfectly with the Wheel of Fortune card in its upright position. I don’t always get it right, but I’m learning; and one of the most important things I’m learning is to recognize how lucky I really am, even when those lucky breaks are well camouflaged in the obstacle course of my life.
How lucky have you been in situations where at first you didn’t see the gifts that Fortune was about to offer? Have you noticed that some of the disruptions in your life have landed you in places where you found some of your best opportunities?

Such is the luck of the draw – and you didn’t even have to buy a vowel, or pretend to guess at some inane phrase. Woot!

As always, relevant comments are welcome.

About tarotcircle

I have been reading Tarot since January 1975, and teaching Tarot since 1978. Several of my students have become the best readers I know- which is why I started giving classes in the first place- so that I could always find someone to get a really superior reading from! In the years since I began reading, the interest in Tarot, other forms of divination and earth-centered spirituality has exploded to amazing proportions, and the art of reading has itself evolved tremendously. So much has changed, and I am so pleased to find myself cresting the wave again and again, as this fascinating science of soul journeying deepens and becomes ever more vibrant. I find myself ever changing, ever learning more and more, as I too, evolve, grow and embark again on the journey to the center of myself. Welcome to the edge of understanding, where you can simultaneously embrace the ancient paths, and surf the most current breakers of your own highest being!
This entry was posted in Divination, interpretation, Metaphysical, readings, Spiritual, tarot, tarot instruction, tarotcircle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

