Card Pick of the Day- 8 of Wands

from the “Mystic Dreamer Tarot” by artist Heidi Darras

Today’s Card is the 8 of Wands.
I find wands to be particularly appropriate for spring, and particularly this one, with all of its suggestions of flight and swiftness. Spring is a time of rapid change, the “springing” to life of new growth, action after the long hibernation of winter.

I have used the Mystic Dreamer Tarot, which those of you who have been following this blog know to be one of my favorite decks.

This card is interpreted by various tarot authors in very similar ways, though each has his or her own refinements and personal tweaks. Barbara Moore, who wrote the companion book that came with the deck, has what I find to be a very appropriate take on the card. She says “This card is full of fast moving potential…you need to be ready to spring into action…[if] you’ve been watching for your opportunity, the moment has come.”

Sasha Fenton, in her well written and very concise: “Super Tarot” writes that  someone drawing this card can “expect to travel, make new friends and enjoy some mind-broadening experiences.” There is also the suggestion that this travel may be to a “hot country”.
Even if we are not rushing out to the car and driving to Daytona today, the planet is taking it’s trip around the sun, and heading into summer- at least in the northern hemisphere- and that is a hot place in time.

When I look at this card, I think of expecting the unexpected. Note that the figure in the illustration, for all her alertness, is facing away from the wands that are flying toward her. I would watch for a trend, that begins suddenly and rapidly picks up speed- a collection of small events that may not seem like much at first, but collectively are very intense. The raven riding the top card is a bird of omen- so be aware that this trend could set the tone for a series of significant experiences that will have a profound and sudden impact on life.

And lastly, I am reminded by a commentary on this card by Mary K. Greer in her seminal “Tarot for Yourself” that  alertness and readiness are not the same as haste. There is a strong impetus toward rushing into things, especially relationships or alliances, and this could have far reaching consequences that last long after the initial burst of energy has dissipated. Be swift, be alert, but don’t let common sense fly out the window.

Remember your scouting days: Be Prepared.

About tarotcircle

I have been reading Tarot since January 1975, and teaching Tarot since 1978. Several of my students have become the best readers I know- which is why I started giving classes in the first place- so that I could always find someone to get a really superior reading from! In the years since I began reading, the interest in Tarot, other forms of divination and earth-centered spirituality has exploded to amazing proportions, and the art of reading has itself evolved tremendously. So much has changed, and I am so pleased to find myself cresting the wave again and again, as this fascinating science of soul journeying deepens and becomes ever more vibrant. I find myself ever changing, ever learning more and more, as I too, evolve, grow and embark again on the journey to the center of myself. Welcome to the edge of understanding, where you can simultaneously embrace the ancient paths, and surf the most current breakers of your own highest being!
This entry was posted in Divination, Metaphysical, readings, Spiritual, tarot, tarot instruction, tarotcircle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Card Pick of the Day- 8 of Wands

  1. I never thought of it that way, well put!

Leave a Reply

